Chang Metamorphosis by Artem Paramonov

Artem Paramonov show us this great breakdown he made for a Chang beer commercial, Pulldownit was used for shattering the bottle,  Artem kindly explain several technical details below.

 

My name is Artem Paramonov, I’m senior 3D creative. This project was done for Iris Sydney, we’ve got a brief from the client to create a stunning animation of a bottle being shattered. The most difficult part of it was of course the simulation itself, and this is where PulldownIt did what it does best – simplified everything.

The tricky part was to make shattering simulation controllable, to start in specific areas and follow up with a general explosion. We also wanted to do it in a bullet time manner to make it look a bit more dramatic. So we, basically, had 2 waves of explosion – first to break apart everything and second to blow all pieces off the screen.

compo1

It was really great being able to define how bottle will be shattered, where the big chunks will form and where we will get the small pieces. Now, slowing down the existing animation and then speeding it up could be generally quite tricky, so once I was happy with simulation results I baked everything into a keyframes and after that into a geometry cache – this gave me a flexibility to re-time it the way I wanted to. Shockwave effects were created later on in After Effects with a standard effect called CC Ripple Pulse. After rendering primary simulation I also rendered a still 2k image, to use different pieces for 2D particles and “dust”. Finally assembling everything in After Effects.

compo2b

Overall experience with Pulldownit is just so sleek – that I was even a bit overwhelmed when I got my results that fast. I could play with it for weeks – it is very enjoyable to use it. It is stable, predictable and it just Works!

2 thoughts on “Chang Metamorphosis by Artem Paramonov

  1. Pingback: Chang Metamorphosis breakdown - CG Record TV | A Channel for CG Artists

Leave a comment